The right litter for an automatic litter box is whatever its maker allows, and for almost every box that sifts or rakes, that means a clumping litter with small granules, ideally unscented clay. Crystal-tray and self-washing machines are the exceptions: they take only their own refills.
We read the litter rules on the makers’ own pages for Whisker’s Litter-Robot, PETKIT, CATLINK, PetSafe ScoopFree, Neakasa, Casa Leo and CatGenie. Where they part ways, the reason is granule size, litter color or a closed refill system.
Apartment Cats earns a commission when you buy through the Amazon links on this page, at no cost to you. Picks are made on published specs, never on commission. How this works
Which litter to choose for your automatic litter box
In a Litter-Robot or most other machines that sift clumps, go with BoxiePro Bot: unscented clumping clay that Boxiecat made for automatic boxes and Whisker names as working in its Litter-Robot, in a 16 lb bag one person can carry.
Will it fit? BoxiePro Bot, 16 lb bag
- Bag
- 16 lb (7.3 kg), by Boxiecat
- Made of
- Clumping clay with probiotics, no added fragrance
- Machines
- Litter-Robot, PETKIT, CATLINK, Neakasa and ScoopFree Clumping, which all take clumping clay
- Best for
- One cat, a sifting box and a walk-up
- Skip if
- You own a Leo’s Loo Too, a ScoopFree Crystal or a CatGenie A.I.
Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product.Start from the machine you own:
- Litter-Robot, CATLINK, Neakasa or ScoopFree ClumpingBoxiePro Bot, or another unscented clumping clay.$25.99 Price as of Nov 2, 2026, 03:53 UTCCheck price at Amazon
Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. - Leo’s Loo TooDr. Elsey’s Ultra Unscented, the clay Casa Leo names, as long as a 40 lb bag can come to your door.$22.99 Price as of Nov 2, 2026, 03:52 UTCCheck price at Amazon
Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. - A Litter-Robot and a wish for plant litterSustainably Yours Large-Grain, the larger grain Whisker suggests.$21.99 Price as of Nov 2, 2026, 03:52 UTCCheck price at Amazon
Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. - A PETKIT boxPETKIT Clump+ Tofu Mixed, unless your cat avoids scented litter.$39.99 Price as of Nov 2, 2026, 03:52 UTCCheck price at Amazon
Details
Product prices and availability are accurate as of the date/time indicated and are subject to change. Any price and availability information displayed on Amazon.com at the time of purchase will apply to the purchase of this product. - ScoopFree Crystal or CatGenie A.I.Only the maker’s refills, ScoopFree Fragrance-Free Crystal Trays or CatGenie Washable Granules.
Key takeaways
- Clumping machines want tight clumps, grains small enough for the sifter and, where sensors read the level, nothing pale; unscented clumping clay passes all three. → the makers’ rules
- Fill to the machine’s line, not the bag’s 3 to 4 in (8 to 10 cm): Whisker sets the Litter-Robot 4’s MAX at 8 to 10 lb. → fill lines
- Plant litters hinge on grain size, which none of those here prints, and the box makers disagree about tofu. → plant litters
- ScoopFree Crystal boxes take only PetSafe’s trays, and PetSafe wants the box kept out of bathrooms, where damp air shortens a tray’s life. → crystal trays
- Swap the litter before the machine; if your cat then goes outside the box, return to what worked and phone your vet. → switching over
What each automatic box maker says about litter
Each maker’s rule, in its own terms:
| Box | Litter the maker asks for | What it rules out | Reason given | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Litter-Robot 4, 5 and EVO (Whisker) | Clumping litter, ideally standard-weight clay | Non-clumping or loose-clumping litter, paper, wood pellets, white or see-through crystals | Only clumps sift out; pale crystals confuse the level sensors | Whisker |
| PETKIT Purobot Max 3, Max Pro 2 and Ultra | Clumping clay, tofu or mixed litter | Grains over 0.47 in (12 mm) long or 0.12 in (3 mm) wide | Sifter openings; a finer sifter comes in the box for fine clay | PETKIT |
| PETKIT Purobot Crystal Duo | PETKIT crystal tray sets | Not stated | Trays are swapped whole | PETKIT |
| CATLINK Scooper Pro-X and Young Pro-X | Most clumping litters | Pure tofu or long tofu strips, non-clumping litter, paper, wood pellets | A small filter grid | CATLINK |
| ScoopFree Crystal boxes (PetSafe) | ScoopFree crystal trays | Any other litter | Others “will not scoop properly” | PetSafe |
| ScoopFree Clumping (PetSafe) | Your cat’s usual clumping litter | Not stated | Built for clumps | PetSafe |
| Neakasa M1 | Fast-clumping grains up to 3 mm wide and 10 mm long | Non-clumping or loose litter, paper, wood pellets; its blog adds tofu and crystals | Grate openings; the soft base needs hard clumps | Neakasa |
| Leo’s Loo Too (Casa Leo) | 100% clay clumping litter; names Dr. Elsey’s Ultra | Everything else | Other litters void the warranty and trial | Casa Leo |
| CatGenie A.I. | CatGenie Washable Granules | All cat litter | Litter damages the unit and clogs pipes | CatGenie |
Whisker’s older Litter-Robot 3 still takes crystals small enough for its screen, and CatGenie’s Whoosh model accepts only its own tofu litter or the tofu and cassava brands it lists. Read across the rows and three tests remain: hard clumps, grains that fit the sifter and, in sensor boxes, a litter that is not pale. Unscented clumping clay passes all three in every clumping machine above. Still choosing between Whisker’s two globes? The Litter-Robot 3 vs 4 comparison has their footprints and doors.
Litters that meet those rules, compared
| Litter | Made of | Scent, per the maker | Package | Where it fits |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| BoxiePro Bot | Clumping clay with probiotics | No added fragrance | 16 lb (7.3 kg) bag | Clumping machines; on Whisker’s list of litters that work |
| Dr. Elsey’s Ultra Unscented | Natural clay, clumping | No perfumes or deodorants | 40 lb (18 kg) bag, listing | Clumping machines; the litter Casa Leo names |
| Sustainably Yours Large-Grain | Corn and cassava, clumping | No fragrance | 10 lb (4.5 kg) bag, listing | Litter-Robot, where Whisker suggests this grain |
| PETKIT Clump+ Tofu Mixed | Tofu and bentonite, clumping | Subtle milk scent | Three 5.2 lb (2.4 kg) bags | PETKIT’s clumping boxes |
| PetSafe ScoopFree Fragrance-Free Crystal Trays | Silica crystals in a tray, no clumping | Fragrance-free | 3 trays of 4.3 lb (2 kg) | ScoopFree Crystal boxes only |
| CatGenie Washable Granules | Reusable granules, washed in the unit | Not stated | One box, 2 to 5 months by CatGenie | CatGenie A.I. and 120 |
BoxiePro Bot, the pick above, is clumping and unscented, two qualities Cornell and the AAFP and ISFM find most cats prefer. A 16 lb bag covers one and a half to two Litter-Robot 4 fills. The gap: Boxiecat prints no dust figure.
Keeping an ordinary box beside the machine? Run its size through the cat measuring tool for length and litter depth.
Clumping clay: the litter every sifting box accepts
Whisker asks for “a high-quality, standard-weight, clay-based clumping litter.” Tight clumps lift out whole; loose ones crumble back into the clean bed. Fill only to the raised MAX line, which Whisker puts at 8 to 10 lb (3.6 to 4.5 kg) in the Litter-Robot 4. Extra litter does not stretch the time between refills, Whisker says, and an overfilled globe can stick mid-cycle.
So ignore the 3 to 4 in (8 to 10 cm) that clay bags print for open pans. In a machine the fill line rules. In your ordinary second box, Cornell finds most cats do well with about 1 to 2 in (2.5 to 5.1 cm).
Dr. Elsey’s Ultra is the one litter a box maker names outright: Casa Leo recommends it for the Leo’s Loo Too, and Dr. Elsey’s pitches it at sifting and mechanical boxes. The maker lists a single ingredient, natural clay, in heavy non-tracking granules mixed with medium grain, sold without perfumes or deodorants and as 99% dust free. The only Ultra size we could confirm on Amazon is a 40 lb bag, so skip it unless delivery reaches your door.
Whisker also sells Lit, unscented sun-dried bentonite in 20 lb bags, only through its own site. Its partner litter, Tidy Cats Designed for Litter-Robot, releases a scent as the globe turns. Whisker’s own guide says most cats prefer unscented litter, which matches Cornell, so we leave that one out. Several clumping clays sell themselves on odor without a scent, and the odor-control litter comparison checks what each claim rests on.
Tofu, corn and cassava: check the grain size first
Plant litters split the makers. Whisker says some tofu works, depending on clumping and particle size; CATLINK advises against pure tofu and long strips; Neakasa’s blog puts traditional tofu on its avoid list. PETKIT designs its boxes for tofu but caps grains at 12 mm long. None of the plant litters here prints a grain size, so the bag cannot tell you whether it fits.

PETKIT Clump+ Tofu Mixed is 75% tofu and 22.5% bentonite, plus a deodorant, zeolite, activated carbon and diatomite. PETKIT says it clumps in 3 seconds and is 99% dust free, and its own comparison table gives all three of its clumping litters a subtle milk scent. Skip it if your cat turns away from scented litter.
Sustainably Yours Large-Grain is corn and cassava with no fragrance, in grains its maker says are designed to stay in the box. Whisker suggests this large grain for less tracking. For a Neakasa M1, hold a few grains against the 3 mm limit before you buy a second bag.
Whisker puts one well-known corn litter, World’s Best, on its do-not-use list, citing reports of stronger odor, mold, bugs and damaged sensors. Our types of cat litter guide covers it for ordinary pans.
Crystal trays and washable granules
A ScoopFree Crystal box never needs clumps. The crystals soak up urine, a rake pushes solids into a bin at the end of the tray, and the whole tray goes out when it is spent. PetSafe’s fragrance-free trays hold 4.3 lb of crystals each and last one cat up to 30 days, by PetSafe’s count.
PetSafe asks owners to keep a ScoopFree box out of bathrooms, showers and basements, because damp air shortens a tray’s life. In a studio the bathroom is often the only private corner, so look at the other spots in our placement guide for small apartments first.
PetSafe also sells ScoopFree Premium Natural, fragrance-free, non-clumping pebbles of fossilized algae; it says one 8 lb bag replaces 40 lb of clumping clay and suits ScoopFree self-cleaning boxes. Its support article for those boxes still says to use only ScoopFree crystals, so ask PetSafe before pouring it into a reusable tray.
The CatGenie A.I. rinses and dries its Washable Granules in the bowl, and CatGenie says one box lasts 2 to 5 months. The trade is plumbing: a cold water line in, and the toilet bowl or a laundry pipe as the drain.
What you carry up the stairs each month
For one cat, by the makers’ own figures:
- Litter-Robot 4: 8 to 10 lb to reach the fill line, then top-ups; Whisker says the robot uses up to 50% less litter than a scooped box.
- Neakasa M1: about 5 to 6 kg (11 to 13 lb) for the first fill.
- PETKIT with Clump+: 5.2 lb bags, and a full refresh every two weeks.
- ScoopFree Crystal: one tray, 4.3 lb of crystals.
- CatGenie A.I.: a box of granules every few months, since the waste leaves by the drain.

Whisker notes that natural or lightweight litter may weigh less for the same volume, which is the stairs case for a lighter clay. It still recommends standard weight and does not say why, and no box maker we read says lightweight clay fails. Our lightweight cat litter guide compares the makers’ weight claims. Either way, reset the scale after each top-up, as Whisker asks.
Waste comes back down too. CATLINK suggests emptying its drawer every 7 to 11 days with one cat, sooner in hot weather; our litter disposal guide covers where those bags wait.
Dust, tracking and smell in one small room
Dust. Every figure here is a maker’s claim with no test method. Dr. Elsey’s, PETKIT and PetSafe print 99%; Boxiecat says low dust with no number; Sustainably Yours says virtually none. When the box shares the air you sleep in, a printed number beats a vague word.
Tracking. Grains that ride out on paws end up in a rental’s grout. Whisker fits a step and fence to the Litter-Robot and sells a mat cut to its base, and Dr. Elsey’s and Sustainably Yours both credit their heavier or larger grains with staying put. Otherwise, size a mat to the exit with our litter mat comparison.
Smell. A sealed drawer and carbon filter keep waste out of a studio’s air, and Whisker calls scented litter a mask, not a fix. Self-cleaning still means full changes. PETKIT puts its litter change at every two weeks, Neakasa’s blog at every 3 to 4 weeks. An ordinary pan gets a full change every 1 to 4 weeks under the AAFP and ISFM guidelines, every 1 to 2 under iCatCare’s. The daily routine is in our guide to stopping litter box odor.
When your cat’s litter does not suit the machine
Pine pellets, paper, crystals and long tofu strips will not run in a clumping machine. Change the litter first and the box second, so your cat faces one new thing at a time:
- In the box your cat uses now, mix a little of the machine’s litter into the old and raise the share at each top-up, as Cornell advises.
- Set the machine where the old box stood, switched off, and stir in a cup of used litter, a Whisker tip.
- Keep the old box nearby. San Diego Humane Society says to let the cat explore, or even use, the new one before you plug it in.
- Turn automatic cleaning on after the first visits, with a long delay; Whisker’s newer models go up to 30 minutes.

Small kittens and moving parts. Each maker sets a minimum for automatic cleaning: 3 lb for the Litter-Robot 4 and EVO, 3.3 lb and 6 months for the PETKIT Purobot Max 3, 3 lb 8 oz and 3 months for CATLINK, 2.2 lb for the Neakasa M1. Below them, Whisker, CATLINK and Neakasa say to switch automatic cleaning off and run cycles yourself.
If your cat never accepts the new litter, keep its favorite in a second, ordinary box. The AAHA and AAFP guidelines ask for one box per cat plus one anyway, in separate spots, and the machine can count as one of them. No veterinary guideline we read takes a position on self-cleaning boxes.
You also stop seeing the clumps, which the scoop used to show you every day. Look in the drawer when you empty it, and glance at the app’s visit log if the box has one.
When the drawer or the log looks different. If your cat starts going outside the box after a litter or machine change, return to what worked and call your vet before trying anything else; Cornell lists urinary inflammation, kidney and thyroid disease and diabetes among the medical causes. A cat that strains and passes little or no urine, nearly always a male, needs a vet right away, since Cornell says a full blockage can kill within 24 to 48 hours.
Who should skip each litter
- BoxiePro Bot: Leo’s Loo Too owners, since Casa Leo asks for 100% clay and names Ultra.
- Dr. Elsey’s Ultra: anyone who carries every bag up by hand.
- Sustainably Yours Large-Grain: Neakasa owners who cannot check the grains first.
- PETKIT Clump+: cats that avoid any scent.
- ScoopFree trays: a box that has to live in a steamy bathroom.
- Washable Granules: Whoosh owners; CatGenie makes them for the A.I. and the 120.
How these litters were chosen
Candidates were screened against the litter rules on the box makers’ own pages: clumping, grains small enough for the sifter, nothing pale where sensors read the level, and ideally no added scent. Tidy Cats Designed for Litter-Robot and ScoopFree’s Fresh Scent and Lavender trays were dropped for their scent, and World’s Best sits on Whisker’s do-not-use list. Third-party CatGenie granules and ScoopFree-compatible trays were skipped because they are not the box makers’ own refills. Boxiecat prints no dust figure, and no plant litter here states its grain size.
Questions about litter for self-cleaning litter boxes
Can you use regular litter in an automatic litter box?
Regular clumping clay suits most of them. Whisker, PETKIT, CATLINK, Neakasa and PetSafe’s ScoopFree Clumping all accept it, and Casa Leo requires it. The exceptions are closed systems: a ScoopFree Crystal box takes only PetSafe’s trays, and the CatGenie A.I. takes washable granules, never litter. Avoid pellets and paper everywhere.
Do you have to buy special litter for the Litter-Robot?
Whisker sells its own Lit and a scented Tidy Cats version, but its support page asks only for clumping litter that sifts. Its list of litters that work includes Dr. Elsey’s, BoxiePro Bot and several other clay brands. On the newer sensor models, steer clear of white or see-through crystals.
Does lightweight litter work in an automatic litter box?
None of the box makers we read rules it out. Whisker recommends standard-weight clay without a reason, and says lighter litter fills its globe at a lower weight than Lit does. So fill to the line rather than to a number of pounds, reset the scale afterward, and watch whether clumps hold together.
Can I install a CatGenie in a rented apartment?
Ask your landlord first. The CatGenie taps a cold water line with a T-adapter, at the toilet or the washer, and drains into the toilet bowl or a laundry pipe. CatGenie says 99% of homes need no plumber, but the pipes belong to the building, and a lease may limit changes to them.
Do I still need a second litter box with an automatic one?
The guideline count of one box per cat plus one does not change, so a single cat still gets two, and the machine can be either. In a studio, set the ordinary box across the room from it, since two boxes next to each other count as a single box. A plain box also covers power cuts and jams.
Next step. Estimate the litter your machine will go through each month with the litter calculator.
Sources
- Whisker, “Does Litter-Robot require special litter?” litter-robot.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Whisker, “Best Litter for Litter-Robot 3, 4, 5 and EVO: Official Guide,” litter-robot.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- PETKIT, “Purobot Max 3 Automatic Cat Litter Box,” petkit.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- PETKIT, “Cat Litter” collection page, petkit.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- CATLINK, “Self Cleaning Litter Box: Scooper Luxury Pro-X,” catlinkus.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- PetSafe, “Understanding your ScoopFree Litter Box,” support.petsafe.net, read Oct 17, 2026.
- PetSafe, “ScoopFree Clumping Self-Cleaning Litter Box,” petsafe.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Neakasa, “Neakasa M1 Plus Open Top Self-Cleaning Cat Litter Box,” neakasa.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Neakasa, “Best Compatible Litter for Neakasa M1,” neakasa.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Casa Leo, “Leo’s Loo Too Self-Cleaning Litter Box with App,” casaleopet.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- CatGenie, “Washable Granules,” catgenie.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Boxiecat, “BoxiePro Bot Clumping Clay Cat Litter,” boxiecat.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Dr. Elsey’s, “Ultra Litter,” drelseys.com, read Oct 16, 2026.
- Whisker, “How much litter do I put in Litter-Robot,” litter-robot.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Whisker, “Litter-Robot 4,” whisker.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- PETKIT, “Clump+ Tofu Mixed Cat Litter, 6 Bags,” petkit.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Sustainably Yours, “Litters,” sylitter.com, read Oct 16, 2026.
- PetSafe, “Disposable Litter Tray: ScoopFree Fragrance-Free Crystal 3-Pack,” petsafe.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- PetSafe, “Natural Cat Litter: ScoopFree Premium Fragrance-Free 8 lb,” petsafe.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Whisker, “Lit Premium Cat Litter,” whisker.com, read Oct 17, 2026.
- Cornell Feline Health Center, “Feline Behavior Problems: House Soiling,” vet.cornell.edu, read Oct 16, 2026.
- AAFP and ISFM, “Guidelines for Diagnosing and Solving House-Soiling Behavior in Cats,” 2014, journals.sagepub.com, read Oct 16, 2026.
- Cornell Feline Health Center, “Feline Lower Urinary Tract Disease,” vet.cornell.edu, read Oct 16, 2026.
- International Cat Care, “2025 iCatCare consensus guidelines on the diagnosis and management of lower urinary tract diseases in cats,” Journal of Feline Medicine and Surgery, PubMed Central, read Oct 16, 2026.
- AAHA and AAFP, “2021 Feline Life Stage Guidelines: general litter box considerations,” aaha.org, read Oct 16, 2026.
- San Diego Humane Society, “Litter Boxes 101,” sdhumane.org, read Oct 16, 2026.









